Sunday, June 20, 2010

Runoff election is Tuesday in Charlotte: U.S. Senate, Eighth District Congressional races

Tuesday's election runoff in Charlotte gives voters the chance to be heard, loudly, because turnout is expected to be very low. Your vote will count.

Democrats and Republicans each have one race on the runoff ballot, and unaffiliated voters can vote in one of those races as well.

Your options:

For U.S. Senate:
Cal Cunningham
Elaine Marshall

For U.S. House, District 8, candidates are:
Tim D'Annunzio
Harold Johnson

Unaffiliated voters who voted Democratic in the first primary can vote in the Democratic runoff.
Unaffiliated voters who voted Republican in the first primary can vote in the Republican runoff.
Unaffiliated voters who did not vote in the first primary can choose whether to vote in the Democratic runoff or Republican runoff.

Republican voters in the nearby 12th Congressional district have a runoff choice as well:
Scott Cumbie
Greg Dority

For all results, see the Mecklenburg Board of Elections site on Tuesday night.

Polling place for Merry Oaks is Precinct 29, at Merry Oaks Elementary School. Voting hours are 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m., according to board of elections documents.

No comments: